163 Kieran Donoghue

Playlist

Heya, my names kieran and Im the songwriter and guitarist in a mathcore band called Hæze and the promoter for thewaitingroommusicfestival. I’ve been through a couple failed projects and previously the drummer of monkey brain but have landed myself as a lighting and sound tech based in Boro.

The HIRS Collective – We’re Still Here

Track – Burn Your House Down

The first album i’d pick is We’re Still Here by The HIRS Collective because it’s basically a huge display of hardcore and independent artists from all over the world with different cultures, genders etc… What comes of that is in my opinion a super well crafted and eclectic collection of music. One song I’d choose is Burn Your House Down because it features a band I love called Gouge Away

Fall Of Troy – Doppelgänger

Track – I Just Got This Symphony Goin

Dopplegänger by Fall of Troy, truly made made me the guitarist I am today… hearing so many notes in just a single bar blew my 14 year old mind. One song i’d pick is ‘I just got this symphony goin’” because it’s the first song with tapping i’d learnt ever.


Jeff Rosenstock – Worry

Track – June 21st

How Jeff Rosenstock isn’t at the very top of punk popularity right now is absurd. Super well written and very well structured album. Kinda angsty songs but in a “fuck i’m getting older” kinda way, though I’m yet to experience applying for a mortgage the album feels very personal and relatable. One song to pick would be “June 21st” because it has this huge build up that melts your face it’s great

Saosin – Translating The Name

Track – 3rd Measurement In C

The production on this EP is so tight and beautiful. I hope one day I can produce songs that sound this good. It’s the definition of short and sweet and there’s nothing that sounds similar because Anthony Green (Singer in this EP) left the band straight after this release. And it’s become some legendary bit of emo music because of it. The song Id pick is 3rd Measurement In C because the breakdown is unlike anything i’ve ever heard before. Absolutely bangin

Wolf Alice – My Love Is Cool

Track – Bros

I can’t believe wolf alice played the westgarth and I missed out on seeing them. Now the westgarth is gone and wolf alice are way too big to come back to teesside unfortunately. Anyway I love this album. I love the dreamy way the songs sound and kinda weirdly nostalgic? Yeah I think we’ve gone pretty far from HIRS collective to wolf alice but I’ve taken a few pages out of wolf alices book in my own songwriting because of how catchy the hooks always are and how it is sonically very well written. A song i’d pick is a personal favourite because it means a lot to me is called “Bros”

Leave a Comment