161 Mal Lythe(4)

1 2 3

I’m Mal and I run this blog and since my last post I also have my own podcast called T-T-Teesside Music Podcast which I talk about gigs that I’ve been to. I am also testing out my music promoter skills with my first gig coming up at NE Volume Music Bar featuring Onlooker, Gaydar and Mascaras Lies.

The Last Dinner Party – Prelude to Ecstasy

Track – Nothing Matters

Stating things of with a very recent album and a band I’m photoed with in the picture above. From the moment I heard the track Nothing Matters I just knew that I’d love this band. I went to see them in Newcastle and it was one of the best shows that I’ve ever been to. The whole atmosphere is incredible and every song felt so different. I knew right after the gig that the album would turn out as good as it did.

Cat Ryan – King of the World

Track – Lost My Connection

Probably one of my favourite North East bands right now. I’ve only seen them live like three times and they get better every time. But this EP is so good. Every song is very catchy with lyrics and hooks that will stick in your head. I definitely recommend giving it a listen.

Elliot Minor – Elliot Minor

Track – Jessica

The fact that only one Elliot Minor song has been picked is criminal. One of the most over looked bands I say. Influences from the Emo movement and pop punk. They were definitely right brown my street when they came out. The self titled album is definitely one I always look back on fondly.

All Saints – All Saints

Track – Never Ever

No huge reasons just really like this album. Also features a mint cover of Under The Bridge that I prefer to the original

LN – Hangman’s Song

Not part of an album or EP and not even the genre of music I would usually pick in something like this . But LN has something special about her and the band. Hangman’s Son there’s so much range in her vocals and how she performs it. The riffs also sounds huge in this song. I saw LN perform an acoustic set in NE Volume and enjoyed it. Still yet to see the full band set up but it’s definitely something I’d love to do.

Leave a Comment